Elizabeth M. Belding

Department of Computer Science
University of California
Santa Barbara, California 93106

Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of California, Santa Barbara 2000.

ebelding [at] cs [dot] ucsb [dot] edu

Here is my CV.

Research Interests:

  • Mobile Wireless Networking​
  • Online Social Networks​
  • Network Analysis
  • Information and Communication Technologies for Development (ICTD)
  • Networks for Developing Regions

Selected UCSB Leadership:

  • Chair of the Chancellor's Advisory Committee on the Status of Women (2014 - present)
  • Vice Chair of the Computer Science Department (2009 - 2015)
  • Associate Director for the Center for Information Technology and Society (2012 - 2015)


Elizabeth M. Belding is a Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of California, Santa Barbara.  Elizabeth’s research focuses on mobile and wireless networking, including network performance analysis, and information and communication technologies for development (ICTD).  She is a co-developer of the AODV routing protocol for mobile networks, on which 802.11s and Zigbee technologies are based in part.   She applies her wireless network expertise to a wide range of contexts, and is particularly interested in improving Internet and cellular accessibility in developing and resource-challenged communities worldwide.  Her ICTD projects have included work in Zambia, South Africa, Mongolia, and refugee camps.  Most recently, she has been working with the Tribal Digital Village in San Diego County.  She is the founder and director of the Mobility Management and Networking (MOMENT) Laboratory.  Elizabeth is the author of over 100 technical papers on wireless networking and has served on over 60 conference technical program committees.  She recently finished a six year term as Vice Chair of the UCSB Computer Science department.  Elizabeth is the recipient of an NSF CAREER Award, and a 2002 MIT Technology Review 100 award, awarded to the world’s top young investigators. She is an ACM Distinguished Scientist and an IEEE Fellow.  She is particularly proud of receiving the UCSB Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award in 2012 and the NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award in 2015 for her mentorship of graduate students.

My publications wordle:

This photo was taken by my former student, David Johnson, during a wireless link experiment outside of our building.

Recent News

MOMENT Lab Ph.D. students attended and volunteered at HotMobile 2017.  Thanks to them for all their help in making the workshop a success!

Congratulations to Mai El-Sherief and undergraduate researcher Dana Nguyen on the acceptance of their paper "#NotOkay: Understanding Gender-based Violence in Social Media" to the International AAAI Conference on Web and Social Media (ICWSM) 2017!  The acceptance rate was only 14%!

Our 2017 CSCW paper, entitled "#Indigenous: Tracking the Connective Actions of Native American Advocates on Twitter," received an Honorable Mention Best Paper Award! 

We received two new NSF awards to continue our collaboration with the Tribal Digital Village, a wireless ISP provider for Native American reservations in San Diego county.  We are working to get more residents online and to improve their internet experience.  You can read about this work in the UCSB press release.

Congratulations to Morgan on the acceptance of her paper to CSCW 2017!  This paper analyzes how Native American advocates used social media to propagate political information during the 2016 presidential primaries.

I am the General Chair of ACM HotMobile 2017.  Looking forward to a wonderful conference in Sonoma, CA in February!

Congratulations to Paul Schmitt and Danny Iland on the acceptance of their paper to the IEEE Communications Magazine special issue on Wireless Technologies for Development, to appear in 2016!

Congratulations to Ph.D. student Paul Schmitt, on his four upcoming papers in 2016: Infocom, PAM, ICTD, and ACM LIMITS!  Great work! 

I spoke at the National Congress of American Indians in San Diego, CA on October 18, 2015 about my work done in collaboration with the Tribal Digital Village, which is focused on analyzing how Native Americans use the Internet and improving the Internet experience for those residents in the most remote areas of the reservations. 

We have a paper accepted into CSCW 2016 that studies the use of the Radio Data System as a means to improve access to online social network content in Native American reservations where broadband connectivity does not exist.